Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee 

The present-day Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (MBPAC) was formed in December 1991 as the Bicycle Advisory Committee (Chapter 624, Acts of 1991). In July 2000, the Committee became the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (Chapter 670, Acts of 2000). The Committee advises State government agencies on issues directly related to bicycling and pedestrian activity including funding, public awareness, safety and education (Code Transportation Article, sec. 2-606).

The twenty-two member committee is appointed by the Governor, combining the experience of citizens with the expertise of representatives from nine State agencies (Chapter 443, Acts of 2009). Committee members represent geographical regions throughout the State and specific interests, including those of visually and mobility impaired individuals.

Focus Areas

MBPAC has three focus areas for promoting bicycle and pedestrian activities:
1. Mode of Transportation  –  Promotes non-motorized modes as healthy, efficient, and environmentally-friendly ways to travel for work and  for fun. 
2. Education and Awareness – Promotes activities, programs and policies that foster bicycle and pedestrian safety education across all age groups; also promotes greater awareness of the mission and work of the MBPAC.
3. Tourism & Recreation –  Promoting and protecting Maryland's off-road trail system while supporting Maryland State agencies,  and providing guidance on program strategies that promote Maryland's trails and tourism resources.



Jon Morrison

State Representatives:

Maryland Department of Commerce: Liz Fitzsimmons
Maryland Department of Disabilities: Bong Delrosario
Maryland Department of Health: Kristi Pier
Maryland Department of Natural Resources: Sandi Olek
Maryland Department of Planning: Brooks Phelps
Maryland Department of Transportation: Kandese Holford
Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission: Michael Jackson
Maryland State Department of Education: Gabriel Rose
Maryland State Police: Lt Laura Beck


Baltimore Metropolitan Area: Matthew Hendrickson, Patrick Patterson
Eastern Shore: Patti Stevens
Southern Maryland: Marshall Edwards
The Washington Metropolitan Area: Jim Titus, Ndegwa Kamau
Western Maryland: Steve Green
Mobility Impaired Representative: Marian Vessels
Visually Impaired Representatives: Andrew Lingelbach
At Large Representatives: Nigel Samaroo, Kristy Daphnis, Antoine RJ Wright


Join online with Microsoft Teams: 283 267 402 769 | Code: feJohT | Join by Phone: 443-409-5228 | Phone Conference ID: 243 372 923#
  • Friday, January 26, 2024, 9 AM | Agenda | Minutes
  • Friday, May 3, 2024, 9 AM | Agenda
  • Friday, July 26, 2024, 9 AM
  • Friday, October 25, 2024, 9 AM

Past MBPAC Meetings

2023 MBPAC Annual Report

2022 MBPAC Annual Report

2021 MBPAC Annual Report

2020 MBPAC Annual Report

2019 Meeting Minutes

2018 Meeting Minutes

2017 Meeting Minutes

Contact Us

For inquiries specific to MBPAC, contact:
For inquiries regarding bicycle and pedestrian activity on state roadways, contact: