Walk Maryland Day 

7th Annual Walk Maryland Day
Wednesday, October 6, 2021

Walk Maryland Day is a celebration of our state’s official exercise and a call to action to promote walking for physical activity and improved health. Walk Leaders are the change agents from different sectors of the community who see the health benefits of walking and encourage fellow Marylanders to take time out of their day to enjoy a walk within their community. “Sole Mates” are participants who sign up to join registered walks throughout the State.

The COVID-19 pandemic has helped highlight the importance of walking as a critical aspect of human well-being, not only for transportation and access, but active recreation and exercise. So, we’ll be pleased to see everyone out there (even if joining virtually and at a distance) wearing masks, keeping proper physical distance, and following all the health protocols that we know are so important to Maryland’s recovery.

Be a Sole Mate!
Download a List of Scheduled Walks 2021

Click Here to Register as a Walk Leader 2021

Walk Maryland Day Logo

Thank you to all of the Walk Leaders, Sole Mates, and Sole-O walkers who took time out of their day to celebrate the 6th Annual Walk Maryland Day on October 7th, 2020! To view photos from walks throughout the State, visit the MDOT Flickr page.

If you participated in a walk and would like to share your photos and videos, please email bikepedinfo@mdot.maryland.gov.

Card image cap

 

Screen Shot 2020-06-02 at 4.00.37 PM.png

Walk Leader Registration

October 7, 2020


This information is necessary for us to be able to share the location of the various walks throughout the State. It will be posted for Sole Mates to contact you to register unless otherwise noted.

Please include the name and an email for a second walk leader (if applicable).

Please advise us if this information can be made available to your sole mates participants

Registered Walks – Open to Sole Mates

 

Allegany County

Cumberland Area
Walk Leader: Rhonda Hardman – rhardman@alleganyhrdc.org
Organization: Allegany County HRDC

 

Anne Arundel

Severna Park, MD
Walk Leader: Robert Schmick – marktim@erols.com
Organization: Maryland Volkssport Association

B&A Trail
Beginning at Severna Park Community Center
Walk Leader: Peyton Moncure – pmoncure@umd.edu
Organization: University of Maryland Extension

 

Baltimore City

Charles Village Baltimore, MD
Walk Leader: Sharon Guida – guidahome@comcast.net
Organization: Charles Village Civic Association

3933 Reisterstown Rd Baltimore, MD 21215
Parking lot in rear of building
Walk Leader: Tamara Thomas – tthomas@phrmd.org
Back-up Walk Leader: lfisher@phrmd.org
Organization: Park Heights Renaissance

McHenry Row
meet at the open area outside the Ramparts Building – 1500 Whetstone Way Baltimore, MD
Walk Leader: Sheila Mahoney – smahoney@baltometro.org
Organization: Baltimore Metropolitan Council

Masonville Cove Urban Wildlife Refuge
1000 Frankfurst Ave, Baltimore, MD 21226
Walk Leader: Captain Trash Wheel – friends@masonvillecove.org
Organization: Masonville Cove Urban Wildlife Refuge Partnership

200 East Baltimore St. Baltimore, MD
Walk Leader: Debra Johnson – djohnson49@mdot.maryland.gov
Organization: Maryland Department of Transportation

Lake Montebello Baltimore, MD
Near 33rd St entrance
Walk Leader: Marty Baker – mbaker1@mdot.maryland.gov
Organization: Maryland Department of Transportation

Carroll Park Baltimore, MD
Walk Leader: Sharon Guida – atg.mde@maryland.gov
Organization: Maryland Department of the Environment - Alternative Transportation Group

Overlea – Baltimore, MD 21206
Walk Leader: Katie Veader – katieajohn@gmail.com

 

Baltimore County

Dundalk – Turner Station
Walk Leader: Lakeia Newkirk – friendsofsoutheastbaltoco@gmail.com
Organization: Friends of Southeast Baltimore County

Gunpowder Falls State Park
Sweet Air Section in Baldwin, MD
Walk Leader: Joyce Browning – jbrowni3@umd.edu
Back-up Walk Leader: Ronnie Grevey
Organization: Harford County Master Gardeners

Virtual Walk
Through the Baltimore County Department of Aging
Walk Leader: Teresa Reed – treed@baltimorecountymd.gov
Organization: Baltimore County Department of Aging

Rosedale, MD
Walk Leader: Wanda Moore – lovingmemoore51@gmail.com
Secondary Walk Leader: Gwendolyn Moore

 

Calvert County

Beach Elementary School
7900 Old Bayside Rd, Chesapeake Beach, MD 20732
Walk Leader: Julie Boehler – joeandjulieb@gmail.com
Organization: U.S. Army Veterans

 

Charles County

Indian Head Rail Trail
10390 Theodore Green Boulevard, White Plains, MD 20695
Walk Leader: Ariana Tomaselli – tomasela@charlescountymd.gov
Organization: Charles County Department of Recreation, Parks, and Tourism

4545 Crain Highway White Plains, MD
Theodore Green entrance of the Rail Trail
Walk Leader: Angela Deal – angela.deal@maryland.gov
Organization: Charles County Department of Health

Town of Indian Head
Walk/Bike Trail
Walk Leader: Rick Poloway – thomasnathanielblakesenior@outlook.com
Organization: Heart & Soul Ministry, Inc.

 

Frederick County

Baker Park – Frederick, MD
Walk Leader: Joe Kelley – jkelley@frederickcountymd.gov
Organization: Frederick County Division of Planning and Permitting

 

Harford County

Emily Bayless Graham Park
15 W. Wheel Rd, Bel Air, MD 21014
Walk Leader: Kathy Burley – klburley@harfordcountymd.gov
Organization: Harford County Parks and Recreation

Bel Air, MD 21014
Walk Leader: Jon Leishman – jkleishman@harfordcountymd.gov
Organization: Harford County Government – Planning and Zoning

Bel Air, MD
Walk Leader: Matthew Scales – mscales@visitmaryland.org
Organization: Maryland Office of Tourism

 

Howard County

Carroll Baldwin Hall
9035 Baltimore St. Savage, MD
The walk will cover 2-3 miles of trails and neighborhoods in Savage
Walk Leader: Norma Broadwater – manager@carrollbaldwinhall.org
Secondary Walk Leader: Sara Vermillion – president@carrollbaldwinhall.org
Organization: Carroll Baldwin Hall

 

Kent County

Cross Island Trail
Kent Narrows, Grasonville, MD
Walk Leader: Does not want contact shared
Organization: Rotary of Kent Island

 

Montgomery County

Lois Y. Green Conservation Park
8711 Snouffer School Road Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Walk Leader: Anthony Laing – laingat@gmail.com
Organization: Seneca Valley Sugarloafers Volksmarch Club

Gaithersburg
3.5 miles, Starbucks (start/end), to Muddy Branch Trail, to Kentlands Lakes, back to Starbucks
Walk Leader: Neil Harris – neil@voteforneil.com
Organization: City of Gaithersburg

Damascus Recreational Park
Magruder Branch Trail Head parking lot near basketball courts
Walk Leader: Paul Gatons – paul.gatons@montgomerycountymd.gov
Organization: Montgomery County DOT – Commuter Services

Sligo Creek Trail
Wayne Avenue and Sligo Creek Parkway entry
Walk Leader: Habibah Jackson – beebtreks@gmail.com

 

Prince George’s County

8000 Dyson Rd, Brandywine, MD
Walk Leader: Wendy Archer – wendy@teamgroshell.com
Organization: Groshell Logistics Inc.

Prince George’s County
Any safe location where social distancing is possible
Walk Leader: Tiffany Jennings – twjennings@co.pg.md.us
Organization: Prince George’s County Department of Public Works and Transportation

University of Maryland Campus
Walk Leader: Tanvi Gadhia – tgadhia@umd.edu
Organization: University of Maryland

Glenn Dale Community Center
11901 Glenn Dale Blvd Glenn Dale, MD 20769
Walk Leader: Theodore Russell – tedd.russell@pgparks.com
Organization: MNCPPC

 

Queen Anne’s County

Church Hill Park
Church Hill, MD
Walk Leader: Annie Steele – asteele4@umd.edu

 

St. Mary’s County

Lexington Park
46940 S. Shagri-La Drive
Walk Leader: Viki Volk – execdirector@stmaryscdc.org
Back-up Walk Leader: Taylor Smith – assocdirector@stmaryscdc.org
Organization: St. Mary’s County Community Development Corporation

 

Washington County

Hagerstown Virtual Walk
Submit the individual miles/minutes you walk each day to help us reach a team goal of 250 miles.
Walk Leader: Amy Riley – ariley@hagerstownmd.org
Organization: City of Hagerstown in partnership with the Washington County Health Department

 

Wicomico County

Salisbury University
Holloway Hall Front Steps
1101 Camden Ave Salisbury, MD 21801
Walk Leader: Catherine Skeeter – cskeeter@mdot.maryland.gov

 

 

Screen Shot 2020-06-02 at 4.00.37 PM.png

Sole Mate Registration

October 7, 2020

This information is necessary for us to be able to share with the Walk Leader at your desired walk location.  This information will be provided to the Walk Leader.

Please advise us if this information can be made available to your walk leader

Please provide the name or location of the walk you wish to participate in:

Would you like to be contacted in the event the walk is rained out?