About MDOT 

Who We Are

The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) is an organization comprised of five business units and one Authority. They are: The Secretary's Office, MDOT State Highway Administration, MDOT Maryland Transit Administration, MDOT Motor Vehicle Administration, MDOT Maryland Port Administration, MDOT Maryland Aviation Administration and the Maryland Transportation Authority. This unique approach provides the state’s leadership with the ability to develop a coordinated and balanced approach to transportation.

Our Mission

Our Goals

The Maryland Department of Transportation presents six goals that support the achievement of MDOT's Vision and Mission. These goals will guide MDOT in tackling the State's biggest transportation challenges over the next 20 years. 

  • Safety & Security
    Enhance the safety of transportation system
  • System Preservation
    Preserve and maintain the State’s existing transportation infrastructure and assets
  • Quality of Service
    Maintain and enhance the quality of the service experienced by users of Maryland’s transportation system
  • Environmental Stewardship
    Ensure the delivery of the State’s transportation infrastructure program conserves and enhances Maryland’s natural, historic and cultural resources
  • Community Vitality
    Provide options for the movement of people and goods that support communities and quality of life
  • Economic Prosperity
    Support a healthy and competitive Maryland economy