## THE BOARD OF GARRETT COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

203 South Fourth Street - Courthouse - Room 207, Oakland, Maryland 21550www.garrettcounty.org - countycommissioners@garrettcounty.org301-334-8970301-895-3188FAX 301-334-5000

**Board of Commissioners** 

Gregan T. Crawford Robert G. Gatto James M. Raley

July 15, 2014

County Administrator R. Lamont Pagenhardt County Attorney Gorman E. Getty III



JUL 18 2014

SECRETARY'S OFFICE DEPT. OF TRANSPORTATION

James T. Smith, Secretary Maryland Department of Transportation 7201 Corporate Center Drive Hanover, Maryland 21076

## **RE: GARRETT COUNTY TRANSPORTATION PRIORITY LIST 2014**

Dear Secretary Smith:

This letter is written to provide an overview of the transportation priorities established by the Board of Garrett County Commissioners relating to Maryland Department of Transportation's major capital improvements for primary and secondary development programs as well as safety and enhancement programs in the Consolidated Transportation Plan. This year's list of projects has been prioritized so as to recognize the funding challenges with which MDOT is faced. All levels of government have been struggling with the same challenges, therefore we at the County firmly believe that now is the time for creative partnerships that will further mutual goals. Both the County and the State desire to stimulate the economy, support community vitality and promote environmental stewardship. We believe this year's priority list clearly demonstrates those goals. Partnerships to further these goals will be most effective when they involve not just various levels of government but also private entities that share our vision of transportation within the County, for the region and in the state.

We would like to highlight our greater transportation vision which is not just locally but also regionally focused, and is especially exemplified by our transit and regional priorities. Our vision is **to link** *municipal revitalization to pedestrian and biking opportunities through an enhanced transit system thereby stimulating economic development, increasing alternative transportation options, encouraging healthy lifestyles, decreasing traffic pollution and highlighting the region's natural resources.* 

Our list has been categorized based on the following functional areas:

- Planning Priorities
- Safety Priorities
- System Preservation Priorities
- Traffic Flow Enhancement Priorities
- Sidewalk/Streetscape Priorities
- Trail and Pedestrian Priorities
- Transit Priorities
- Regional Transportation Priorities



## The Board has listed as its #1 priorities:

- Planning Priority #1:
  - A. Truck Corridor Feasibility Study US 219 & MD 495
- Safety Priority #1:
  - o Loch Lynn Bridge Project
- System Preservation Priority #1:
  - Stormwater Drain Repair of US 219 at Burger King, Oakland
- Traffic Flow Enhancement Priority #1:
  - Signal Warrant Project Quarry Road & US 219
- Sidewalk/Streetscape Priority #1:
  - MD 826 A to Deer Park Ave Project
- Trail and Pedestrian Priority #1:
  Pedestrian Crossing at the corner of 219 & Mosser Road
- Transit • Transit Service Expansion
- Regional Transportation Priority #1:
  - o US 219 N Reconstruction/Relocation

Garrett County acknowledges and is greatly appreciative of the successful projects that have been completed or are on-going in our county, including but not limited to the rehabilitation of the retaining wall on US 219, intersection improvements at New Germany Road and various resurfacing and safety projects.

As per Chapter 725 of the 2010 Laws of Maryland, we have attached our list of Priority Projects with the required supporting information set forth in. Thank you for considering our transportation priorities in Garrett County. We look forward to continuing our successful relationship as we work together to further the transportation planning needs of the county, region and state.

Respectfully,

Robert G. Gatto, Chairman Board of County Commissioners

set 110

Deborah A. Carpenter, Assistant Director Department of Community Planning & Development

cc: Senator George C. Edwards Delegate Wendell Beitzel Donald Halligan, Director Planning & Capital Programming Anthony Crawford, District Engineering