

## HOWARD COUNTY OFFICE OF COUNTY EXECUTIVE

3430 Courthouse Drive ■ Ellicott City, Maryland 21043 ■ 410-313-2013

Ken Ulman Howard County Executive

## RECEIVED

OCT 24 2011

www.howardcountymd.us FAX 410-313-3051 TDD 410-313-2323

October 17, 2011

SECRETARY'S OFFICE DEPT. OF TRANSPORTATION

The Honorable Beverly K. Swaim-Staley Office of the Secretary Maryland Department of Transportation 7201 Corporate Center Drive Hanover, MD 21076

Dear Secretary Swaim-Staley:

I am pleased to forward Howard County's updated list of priority projects for proposed inclusion in the FY2013 to FY2018 Consolidated Transportation Program. Our priorities this year continue to emphasize BRAC related needs within the region, highway safety, and targeted transportation improvements to support smart, sustainable growth.

We are grateful for State funding for transit and highways, as well as for the technical assistance provided by MTA and SHA staff. Attached is the list of our priorities for State transportation projects in Howard County.

Our highest transit priority for Fiscal Year 2013 is the State's continued support for development of the Central Maryland Transit Operations Facility (CMTOF). Once operational, the facility will reduce costs for three LOTS programs: Howard Transit, Western Anne Arundel Transit, and Connect-A-Ride. Of equal importance is funding to replace an additional four buses with environmentally responsible hybrid transit vehicles.

Howard County continues to endorse capital improvements to the MARC Camden Line and encourages additional State operating support to provide increased Camden Line service to support the new Transit Oriented Developments (TODs) that are being developed at three Howard County stations. The Savage TOD has received its designations; I also urge TOD designation for transit oriented developments at the Dorsey and Laurel Race Track MARC stations.

In the important area of highway safety improvements, my highest priority continues to be efforts to develop and implement safety improvements on Route 32. I appreciate the work of the SHA staff to address safety concerns along MD 32 between MD 108 and our border with Carroll County. These concerns were heightened following tragic accidents along this stretch of road. I also appreciate initiation of the MD 32 – Wellworth Way access management project between MD 144 and Chase Fox Drive, which will increase safety by eliminating private driveways entering directly on to MD 32. Between I-70 to the Carroll County line, we ask that the State continue to support safety initiatives in the



corridor, including the installation of deceleration lanes where appropriate, as well as continued work toward a comprehensive access management program. Between MD 108 and I-70, we ask the State to pursue safety improvements by continuing to support current design work on access management, grade separated crossings and additional mainline capacity, as well as funding right-of-way and construction of these improvements. We recommend that the selected safety improvements throughout the corridor be given a high priority and be implemented as quickly as possible.

Of equal importance in the safety category is the installation of battery back-up systems with capacity for generator installation at state highway intersections in Howard County. The County's recent experience during Hurricane Irene demonstrated the value and importance of this investment. Twenty-five state highway signals in the County can operate on battery back-up, but with no generator capacity, meaning the signals can operate for approximately 10 hours. Many other intersections have no back-up systems. During the recent hurricane, County police personnel staffed six state-controlled intersections that had no power or back-up system, for a staffing cost of approximately \$13,000. Battery systems with a generator back-up would have eliminated that cost, increasing public safety staffing levels and improved safety for all motorists. We ask that the State fund the best systems available for all State traffic signals in the County.

Our top highway capacity priority is to widen northbound US 29 to three mainline lanes from north of Seneca Road/Shaker Drive to south of MD 175. This 3-mile improvement will eliminate one of two remaining constrictions on US 29 and greatly alleviate congestion on the facility as well as at the interchanges with MD 175, Broken Land Parkway and MD 32. We ask for the State's continued support to complete SHA's current access control projects on Old Columbia Road and Gales Lane, complete ongoing design and fund construction for this very needed segment of US 29. The project also facilitates the redevelopment of the Columbia Downtown which we consider a Smart Growth priority.

Thank you for considering Howard County's priority transportation needs.

Ken Ulman

Sincerel

County Executive

## Attachment

cc: Howard County Delegation

Howard County Council Members

Public Transportation Board Members

Don Halligan, Director, Planning and Capital Programming, MDOT

Heather Murphy, Deputy Director, Planning and Capital Programming, MDOT

Darrell B. Mobley, Acting Administrator, SHA

Greg Slater, Director, Planning and Preliminary Engineering, SHA

David Coyne, District Engineer, District 7 SHA

Douglas Simmons, Deputy Administrator, SHA

Mary Dietz, Chief Regional & Intermodal Planning Planner, SHA

Vaughn Lewis, Regional Planner, SHA

George Miller, District 7, SHA

Ralign T. Wells, Administrator, MTA

Henry Kay, Deputy Administrator, Planning and Engineering, MTA

Diane Ratcliff, Director, Office of Planning, MTA

Lenny Howard, Chief of Regional Planning, MTA

Elizabeth Kreider, Director, Local Transit Support, MTA

Tom Holsclaw, Regional Planner, Office of Planning & Programming, MTA

George Cardwell, Office of Planning, Anne Arundel County

John Powell, Transit Administrator, Corridor Transportation Corporation

Todd Lang, Director of Transportation, BMC

Jessica Feldmark, Chief of Staff

David Nitkin, Director of Governmental Affairs

Joshua Feldmark, Director of Environmental Sustainability

Lonnie Robbins, Chief Administrative Officer

Kent Menser, Executive Director, BRAC Task Force

James Irvin, Director, Department of Public Works

Mark DeLuca, Deputy Director, Department of Public Works

Ron Lepson, Chief, Bureau of Engineering, Department of Public Works

Steve Sharar, Chief, Division of Transportation and Special Projects, Department of Public

## Works

Kevin Enright, Administrator, Public Information Office

Marsha S. McLaughlin, Director, Department of Planning and Zoning

Kimberley Flowers, Deputy Director, Department of Planning and Zoning

Ben Pickar, Acting Chief, Division of Transportation Planning

File: CTP - FY 2013