

Federal Transit Administration

February 28, 2025

REGION III Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia 1835 Market Street Suite 1910 Philadelphia, PA 19103-2932 215-656-7100

Mr. Geoff Anderson Acting Director, Office of Planning and Capital Programming Maryland Department of Transportation 7201 Corporate Center Drive Hanover, MD 21076

Re: Amendment to the FY 2022-2025 Maryland Statewide Transportation Improvement Program, MDOT Control #22-182

Dear Mr. Anderson:

The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) has requested approval of an Amendment to the FY 2022-2025 Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) (Control #22-182 dated January 16, 2025). This Amendment adds one new project, and adds funding for another as detailed in the following table.

Project Name	STIP #	Federal Funding Source	FY22-FY25 Net Federal Funding Change
Southern Maryland Rapid Transit (SMRT)	11620	TIG	\$5,000
New Carrollton Multi-modal Transportation Station	13654	NII	\$20,500,000

The National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board (TPB) added this project to the FY 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) by resolution SR23-2025 on December 6, 2024, and TIP Action 23-54 on January 16, 2025.

Based on our review of the information provided, the FTA and FHWA hereby approve this Amendment to the STIP and finds it consistent with the requirements of 23 U.S.C. 135 and 49 U.S.C. 5304. This approval does not constitute an obligation of Federal funds. FTA finalizes Federal funding for projects included in the STIP upon approval of a grant application. Dan Koenig is available at daniel.koenig@dot.gov, if you have questions concerning this approval.

Sincerely,

Laura Keeley, Director

Office of Planning and Program Development Federal Transit Administration Region III

CC: Geoff Anderson, MDOT Michelle Martin, MDOT Dan Janousek, MDOT Kari Snyder, MDOT Shawn Kiernan, MDOT Andrew Bernish, MDOT Eric Beckett, MTA Erika Falk, MTA Kisha Joyner, MTA Stephen Miller, MTA Albert Guiney Engel, MTA Jamie Richardson, MTA Amanda Wilson, MTA Lyn Erickson, MWCOG Andrew Austin, MWCOG Leonardo Pineda, MWCOG Dan Sommerville, FTA Michele DeAngelis, FTA David Schilling, FTA Chimgae Tumurbaatar, FTA Jasmine Champion, FHWA