Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council (EVIC) Meeting Notes

Meeting Date: April 21, 2016

Meeting Location: Harry Hughes Conference Room, MDOT Headquarters, Hanover, MD

Attendees:

R. Earl Lewis Jr. (MDOT) Frank Lee, for Ted Atwood (BCDOT)

Diane Yeager for Senator Brian Feldman Alex Keros (GM)

Delegate Clarence K. Lam, MD Kevin Miller for Colleen Quinn (ChargePoint)

Charles Glass (MDOT)

Dorothy Morrison (MDOT)

Rob Stewart for Bill Gausman (Pepco)

Konrad Herling (Greenbelt City Council [MML])

Scott Wilson (EVA DC)

Tim Shepherd (MDE)

Meg Andrews (MDOT)

Colleen Turner (MDOT)

John Murach (BGE)

Mike Jones (MEA)

James Ley (DGS)

Samuel Beirne (MEA)

John Fiastro (MEA)

Mike Wall (Clinton Electric)

Thomas Ashley (Greenlots)

Tad Aburn for Ben Grumbles (MDE)

Steve Arabia (NRG)

Bob Bruninga (IEEE)

Lanny Hartman (Citizen)

Welcome, Announcements & Introductions

MDOT Deputy Secretary, R. Earl Lewis, Jr., welcomed all meeting participants.

Public Comments

Bob Bruninga discussed opportunities for solar installations and community solar, particularly with respect to an MDOT and MEA partnership to install solar on MDOT existing right-of-way. Mr. Bruninga provided an example of a potential installation at MD 103 and MD 100. Mr. Lewis informed the meeting participants that MDOT is currently pursing solar installations on state land.

Lanny Hartman discussed the failure of SB168, Real Property – Installation and use of Electric Vehicle Recharging Equipment. Many of the EVIC members expressed concerns over the failure of SB168 and find that there is a significant barrier in terms of property rights and the reluctance of homeowners associations and other property owners to install EV charging infrastructure. Diane Yeager, Senator Feldman's proxy indicated that an endorsement from MDO Ton SB168 would have been helpful. MDOT took no position on the bill. Mr. Lewis suggested that EVIC's Legislative and Workplace & Urban Charging Workgroups revisit similar legislation in preparation for the 2017 session.

April 21, 2016 Page 1 of 4

Workgroup Updates

Review of EVIC / Workgroup Membership Guidelines

Financial disclosure statements. Colleen Turner emailed all workgroup members who have outstanding 2015 financial disclosure statements due. For those whom have yet to complete the statement, please file it as soon as possible at https://efds.ethics.state.md.us.

Committee Structure. Committees should be chaired by no more than two members of EVIC. Committee should be comprised of members that are currently working for an agency or organization that is represented on EVIC. All committees should copy Colleen Turner (cturner@mdot.state.md.us) on relevant committee correspondence (meeting notifications, meeting materials and summaries) so that she may stay up to date on committee business and develop a clearinghouse of all EVIC-related documentation.

State Agency

Chair: R. Earl Lewis Jr.

Members: Mike Jones (MEA), Tim Shepherd (MDE), Colleen Turner (MDOT), others pulled in as

needed particularly from MDOT's Transportation Business Units (TBUs)

The State Agency Workgroup met in March and reviewed the 32 recommendation from the December 2012 report and has assigned each of the recommendations to the appropriate workgroup for further investigation and comment.

Tim Shepherd (MDE) indicated that the most likely scenario from auto manufacturers on the implementation of CAL LEV in Maryland (MD Clean Car) is looking like 295,000 EVs by 2025. He noted that a midterm review is pending and that could change the forecast.

Frank Lee (BCDOT) shared that Baltimore City ranked #3 on a list of <u>U.S. cities' readiness for plug-in</u> <u>electric vehicles</u> per an Indiana University Study.

MEA and Baltimore City are continuing a partnership to install DC fast charging stations at libraries and community/recreation centers. Baltimore City is looking at installing over 50 additional charging stations, which will not all be funded in partnership with MEA.

Mr. Lewis will look into a letter provided from SHA to MEA regarding wayfinding on highways with respect to a recent grant opportunity. Mr. Jones will provide the letter from SHA to Mr. Lewis and Ms. Turner.

Communications

Chair: Jill Sorensen (BEVI)

Members: Tim Shepherd (MDE), Mike Jones (MEA) and Tim Davis (City of Frederick [MML), Scott

Wilson (EVA DC), Dave Goldstein (EVA DC), Konrad Herling ([MML], City of Greenbelt)

Ms. Sorensen indicated that the committee was working on a basic communications plan and coordinating updates to the www.marylandev.org website. One major focus will be to conduct outreach that targets individuals who know nothing about electric vehicles.

The committee has identified the following needs:

April 21, 2016 Page 2 of 4

- Better engage in social media.
- Ensure that regular updates to the website do not fall behind due to changeover in student help.
- Ensure consistency across Maryland EV-related websites.
- Better identify target audience, which will require funding.

Members of the workgroup are currently working on a pilot wayfinding at Penn Station in Baltimore, which may be helpful to others in the future.

Konrad Herling noted that an EV will be featured at the upcoming MML conference in June. The MML also asked him to compile a report highlighting the time he has spent on EVIC and what benefit EVIC might have for cities.

Workplace & Urban Charging

Chair: John Murach (BGE) will take the lead in organizing the first 2016 meeting of this

workgroup

Members: Tim Shepherd (MDE), Mike Jones (MEA), John Murach (BGE), Rob Stewart (Pepco), Jason

Mathias (BCDOT), Frank Lee (BCDOT), Alex Keros (GM)

Mr. Murach agreed to take the lead in organizing the first meeting of this workgroup and will attempt to schedule the first meeting in May.

MEA shared some information on an upcoming project that will involve workplace and urban charging events, including follow-up tracking and surveys, as well as the development of marketing materials through a partnership with MDE and MDOT.

Mr. Keros (GM) noted that of the 20% of charging that occurs outside of the home, approximately two thirds occurs in the workplace and one third occurs outside of the workplace.

Legislative

Chair: Kevin Miller (ChargePoint) and Mike Wall (Clinton Electric)

Members: Konrad Herling ([MML], City of Greenbelt), Delegate Lam, Delegate Clippinger, Senator

Feldman, Diane Yeager

Mr. Lewis noted that volunteers are still needed to participate on the legislative committee.

EVIC Priorities for 2016

The Council identified the following priorities for 2016:

- 1. Identify legislative needs in advance of the 2017 session.
- Identify and address infrastructure requirements charging stations needed to reach 2020 and 2025 goals.
 - a. 2012 report estimated 35,000 charging stations needed to get to 2020 goal of 60,000.
- 3. Flesh out communications issues prioritize coalescing around a common marketing theme.
- 4. Technical and policy issues associated with workplace and urban charging
 - a. Paid vs. Unpaid Charging Infrastructure
 - b. Interoperability concerns
- 5. Identify economic development opportunities associated with EVs and charging infrastructure.

April 21, 2016 Page 3 of 4

Closing Remarks

The Council identified the following presentations for future meetings:

- 1. Interoperability (Kevin Miller of ChargePoint and Mike Wall of Clinton Electric)
- 2. Regional EV efforts (TCI, NESCAUM, NASEO)

EVIC meetings will be held every other month, on the third Thursday, from February through December. EVIC will not meet during the months of July and August.

Next Meeting June 16th 2:00 – 4:00 p.m. at MDOT Harry Hughes Conference Room, Suites 2 and 3

April 21, 2016 Page 4 of 4