
Title 11 
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Subtitle 11 MOTOR VEHICLE ADMINISTRATION—ADMINISTRATIVE 
PROCEDURES 

11.11.05 Motor Vehicle Fees 
Authority: Transportation Article,§§12-l04(b), Annotated Code of Maryland 

Notice of Proposed Action 
[25-087-P] 

The Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Administration proposes to amend Regulations .02—.04, and .06 under COMAR 
11.11.05 Motor Vehicle Fees.  

Statement of Purpose 
The purpose of this action is to adjust the fees charged for certain transactions for vehicle titling, driver's license and 

identification cards, vehicle registration, and miscellaneous services in order to reflect the cost of providing the services and 
products covered by these fees in compliance with Transportation Article, §12-120, Annotated Code of Maryland. 

Estimate of Economic Impact 
I. Summary of Economic Impact. MVA charges fees for various driver, vehicle, and business license transactions. MVA is 

required in law to recover 100-105 percent of certain operating costs through its fees. It is currently recovering around 95 percent 
of its operating costs. 

The estimated economic impact to the Administration based on the proposed regulation is estimated to be an annual revenue 
increase of $69,353,101. 

Based on the assumption and the information contained in this fiscal impact statement, the estimate economic impacts are as 
follows: 

(1) Vehicle Titling Fees: 
a. Salvage certificate: 

i. Original (from $25 to $40); 
ii. Duplicate (from $25 to $40) 

b. Salvage Inspection fee (from $25 to $75) 
c. Title: 

i. Corrected (from $40 to $80); 
ii. Duplicate (from $20 to $40); 

d. Security interest filing: 
i. Original (from $20 to $40); 
ii. Duplicate (from $20 to $40);  

(2) Driver's License and Identification Card Fees: 
a.  Noncommercial Driver's License - New issuance (from $9 per year to $11 per year); 
b.  Noncommercial Driver's License - Renewal (from $6 per year to $8 per year); 
c.  Commercial Driver's License - Renewal/Conversion (from $6 per year to $8 per year); 
d.  Commercial Driver's License - Conversion - out of State to MD (from $6 to $8 per year); 
e.  Identification Card - New issuance or renewal - 18 years or older, 8 years (from $3 per year to $5 per year); 
f.  Identification Card - Duplicate (from $20 to $30); 
g. Identification Card - Corrected (from $20 to $30); 

(3) Vehicle Registration Fees: Substitute Tags (from $20 to $40); 
(4) Miscellaneous Fees: 

a. Vehicle emission inspection fee (from $14 to $30); 
b. Vehicle emission reinspection fee (from $14 to $30); 
c. Vehicle emission inspection advanced testing fee (from $10 to $26); 
d. Vehicle emissions inspection late fee - per month or part of it (from $15 to $30); and 
e. Vehicle emissions inspection fleet test fee, per vehicle passed (from $14 to $30). 
 

II. Types of Economic Impact. 

Impacted Entity 

Revenue 
(R+/R-) 
Expenditur
e (E+/E-) Magnitude 

A. On issuing agency:   



 (a) Driver License-New Issuance (R+) $1,873,136 
 (b) Driver License-Renewal (R+) $9,657,680 
 (c) Commercial Driver's License-

Renewal/Conversion 
(R+) $241,104 

 (d) Commercial Driver's License-out 
of State Conversion 

(R+) $20,528 

 (e) Salvage Certificate-Original (R+) $1,602,285 
 (f) Salvage Certificate-Duplicate (R+) $19,740 
 (g) Salvage Inspection fee - applying 

for a salvage certificate of title for the 
vehicle 

(R+) 1,562,500 

 (h) Title Certificate-Corrected (R+) $1,261,600 
 (i) Title Certificate-Duplicate (R+) $5,998,640 
 (j) Security Interest Filing-Original (R+) $12,344,020 
 (k) Security Interest Filing-Duplicate (R+) $118,340 
 (l) Identification Card-New Issuance (R+) $749,168 
 (m) Identification Card-Duplicate (R+) $142,370 
 (n) Identification Card-Corrected (R+) $167,370 
 (o) Vehicle Emission Inspection (R+) $15,236,944 
 (p) Vehicle Emission Reinspection (R+) $1,598,560 
 (q) Vehicle Emission Inspection 

Advanced Testing Fee 
(R+) $3,847,744 

 (r) Vehicle Emissions Inspection 
Late Fee-Per Month or Part of it 

(R+) $10,050,000 

 (s) Vehicle Emissions Inspection 
Fleet Test Fee, Per Vehicle Passed 

(R+) $7,152 

(t) Substitute tags (R+)   $2,854,220 
B. On other State agencies: NONE  
C. On local governments: NONE  

 
Benefit (+) 
Cost (-) Magnitude 

D. On regulated industries or trade 
groups: NONE 

 

E. On other industries or trade 
groups: NONE 

 

F. Direct and indirect effects on 
public: 

  

 (a) Driver License-New Issuance (R+) $1,873,136 
 (b) Driver License-Renewal (R+) $9,657,680 
 (c) Commercial Driver's License-

Renewal/Conversion 
(R+) $241,104 

 (d) Commercial Driver's License-out 
of State Conversion 

(R+) $20,528 

 (e) Salvage Certificate-Original (R+) $1,602,285 
 (f) Salvage Certificate-Duplicate (R+) $19,740 
 (g) Salvage Inspection fee - applying 

for a salvage certificate of title for the 
vehicle 

(R+) 1,562,500 

 (h) Title Certificate-Corrected (R+) $1,261,600 
 (i) Title Certificate-Duplicate (R+) $5,998,640 



 (j) Security Interest Filing-Original (R+) $12,344,020 
 (k) Security Interest Filing-Duplicate (R+) $118,340 
 (l) Identification Card-New Issuance (R+) $749,168 
 (m) Identification Card-Duplicate (R+) $142,370 
 (n) Identification Card-Corrected (R+) $167,370 
 (o) Vehicle Emission Inspection (R+) $15,236,944 
 (p) Vehicle Emission Reinspection (R+) $1,598,560 
 (q) Vehicle Emission Inspection 

Advanced Testing Fee 
(R+) $3,847,744 

 (r) Vehicle Emissions Inspection 
Late Fee-Per Month or Part of it 

(R+) $10,050,000 

 (s) Vehicle Emissions Inspection 
Fleet Test Fee, Per Vehicle Passed 

(R+) $7,152 

(t) Substitute Tags (R+)  $2,854,220 
B. On other State agencies: NONE  
C. On local governments: NONE  

 
Benefit (+) 
Cost (-) Magnitude 

D. On regulated industries or trade 
groups: NONE 

 

E. On other industries or trade 
groups: NONE 

 

F. Direct and indirect effects on 
public: 

  

 (a) Driver License-New Issuance (R+) $1,873,136 
 (b) Driver License-Renewal (R+) $9,657,680 
 (c) Commercial Driver's License-

Renewal/Conversion 
(R+) $241,104 

 (d) Commercial Driver's License-out 
of State Conversion 

(R+) $20,528 

 (e) Salvage Certificate-Original (R+) $1,602,285 
 (f) Salvage Certificate-Duplicate (R+) $19,740 
 (g) Salvage Inspection fee - applying 

for a salvage certificate of title for the 
vehicle 

(R+) 1,562,500 

 (h) Title Certificate-Corrected (R+) $1,261,600 
 (i) Title Certificate-Duplicate (R+) $5,998,640 
 (j) Security Interest Filing-Original (R+) $12,344,020 
 (k) Security Interest Filing-Duplicate (R+) $118,340 
 (l) Identification Card-New Issuance (R+) $749,168 
 (m) Identification Card-Duplicate (R+) $142,370 
 (n) Identification Card-Corrected (R+) $167,370 
 (o) Vehicle Emission Inspection (R+) $15,236,944 
 (p) Vehicle Emission Reinspection (R+) $1,598,560 
 (q) Vehicle Emission Inspection 

Advanced Testing Fee 
(R+) $3,847,744 

 (r) Vehicle Emissions Inspection 
Late Fee-Per Month or Part of it 

(R+) $10,050,000 

 (s) Vehicle Emissions Inspection 
Fleet Test Fee, Per Vehicle Passed 

(R+) $7,152 



(t) Substitute Tags (R+)  $2,854,220 
   
 
III. Assumptions. (Identified by Impact Letter and Number from Section II.) 
 
A.(a). and F.(a). The increase in the fee for new driver licenses will generate an additional $1,873,136 annually, based on an 

increase of $16 each for the approximately 117,071 new driver licenses issued annually. 
A.(b) and F.(b). The increase in the fee for renewal driver licenses will generate an additional $9,657,680 annually, based on 

an increase of $16 each for the approximately 603,605 renewal drivers licenses issued annually. 
A.(c) and F(c). The increase in the fee for renewal or conversion commercial driver's licenses will generate an additional 

$241,104 annually, based on an increase of $16 each for the approximately 15,069 renewal or conversion commercial driver's 
licenses issued annually. 

A.(d) and F.(d). The increase in the fee for out of state conversion commercial driver's licenses will generate an additional 
$20,528 annually, based on an increase of $16 each for the approximately 1,283 out of state conversion commercial driver's 
licenses issued annually. 

A.(e) and F.(e). The increase in the fee original salvage certificates will generate an additional $1,602,285 annually, based on 
an increase of $15 each for the approximately 106,819 original salvage certificates issued annually.  

A.(f) and F.(f). The increase in the fee for duplicate salvage certificates will generate an additional $19,740 annually, based on 
an increase of $15 each for the approximately 1,316 duplicate salvage certificates issued annually. 

A.(g) and F.(g). The increase in the fee for salvage inspection fee paid by an owner of a vehicle for which a salvage certificate 
has been issued who is applying for a certificate of title for the vehicle will generate an additional $1,562-500 annually, based on 
an increase of $50 each for the approximately 31,250 certificate issued annually. 

A.(h) and F.(h). The increase in the fee for corrected title certificates will generate an additional $1,261,600 annually, based on 
an increase of $40 each for the approximately 31,540 corrected title certificates issued annually. 

A.(i) and 6.(i). The increase in the fee for duplicate title certificates will generate an additional $5,998,640 annually, based on 
an increase of $20 each for the approximately 299,932 duplicate title certificates issued annually.  

A(j) and 6.(j). The increase in the fee for original security interest filing will generate an additional $12,344,020 annually, 
based on an increase of $20 each for the approximately 617,201 renewal original security interest filing issued annually. 

A.(k) and 6.(k). The increase in the fee for duplicate Security Interest Filing will generate an additional $118,340 annually, 
based on an increase of $20 each for the approximately 5,917 duplicate Security Interest Filing issued annually. 

A.(l) and 6.(l). The increase in the fee for new issuance Identification Cards will generate an additional $749,168 annually, 
based on an increase of $16 each for the approximately 46,823 issued annually. 

A.(m) and 6.(m). The increase in the fee for duplicate identification cards will generate an additional $142,370 annually, based 
on an increase of $10 each for the approximately 14,237 duplicate identification cards issued annually.  

A.(n) and 6.(n). The increase in the fee for corrected identification cards will generate an additional $167,370 annually, based 
on an increase of $10 each for the approximately 16,737 corrected identification cards issued annually.  

A.(o) and 6.(o). The increase in the fee for Vehicle emission inspections will generate an additional $15,236,944 annually, 
based on an increase of $16 each for the approximately 952,309 Vehicle emission inspections issued annually. 

A.(p) and 6.(p). The increase in the fee for Vehicle emission reinspection will generate an additional $1,598,560 annually, 
based on an increase of $16 each for the approximately 99,910 Vehicle emission reinspection issued annually.  

A(q) and 6.(q). The increase in the fee for Vehicle emission inspection advanced testing fee will generate an additional 
$3,847,744 annually, based on an increase of $16 each for the approximately 240,484 Vehicle emission inspection advanced 
testing fee issued annually.  

A.(r) and 6.(r). The increase in the fee for Vehicle emissions inspection late fee - per month or part of it will generate an 
additional $10,050,000 annually, based on an increase of $15 each for the approximately 670,000 Vehicle emissions inspection 
late fee - per month or part of it issued annually. 

A.(s) and 6.(s). The increase in the fee for Vehicle emissions inspection fleet test fee, per vehicle passed will generate an 
additional $7,152 annually, based on an increase of $16 each for the approximately 447 Vehicle emissions inspection fleet test 
fee, per vehicle passed issued annually.  

A.(t) and 6.(t). The increase in the fee for Vehicle substitute Tags will generate an additional $2,854,220 annually, based on an 
increase of $20 each for the approximately 142,711 substitute tag transactions annually. 

Economic Impact on Small Businesses 
The proposed action has minimal or no economic impact on small businesses. 

Impact on Individuals with Disabilities 
The proposed action has no impact on individuals with disabilities. 

Opportunity for Public Comment 
Comments may be sent to Tracey C. Sheffield, Regulations Coordinator , MVA, 6601 Ritchie Highway N.E. Room 200, Glen 

Burnie, MD 21062, or call 410-768-7545, or email to tsheffield@mdot.maryland.gov. Comments will be accepted through July 
28, 2025. A public hearing has not been scheduled. 



11.11.05 Motor Vehicle Fees 
Authority: Transportation Article, §12-104(b), Annotated Code of Maryland 

.02 Vehicle Titling Fees. 

Service  Section  Fee  

A. Title certificate—duplicate  13-805  [$20] 
$40  

B. Title certificate—corrected  13-118  [40] 80  

C. Salvage certificate  13-506 and 13-507  [25] 40  

D. Salvage certificate—duplicate  13-506 and 13-507  [25] 40  

E. Inspection fee. Paid by an owner of a vehicle 
for which a salvage certificate has been issued 
who is applying for a certificate of title for the 
vehicle  

13-507  [25] 75 

F. Security interest filing  13-202  [20] 40  

G. Security interest filing—duplicate  13-953  [20] 40  

H. Title Transfer—additional service fee  13-112  25  

.03 Driver's License and Identification Card Fees. 

Service  Section  Fee  

A.—B. (text unchanged)     

C. Noncommercial Driver's License:    

(1) New issuance  16-111.1 and 16-122  [45] 11 per year 

(2) Duplicate or corrected  16-111.1 and 16-122  30 

(3) Renewal  16-111.1 and 16-122  [30] 8 per year 

D. (text unchanged)    

E. Commercial Driver's License:    

(1) Instructional Permit. Includes issuance 
of license if issued before permit expiration.  

16-818  66 

(2) New Issuance. If a learner's 
instructional permit is not required.  

16-818  [50] 8 per year 

(3)—(4) (text unchanged)    

(5) Renewal or conversion  16-818  [30] 8 per year  

(6)  (text unchanged)   

F. (text unchanged)    



Service  Section  Fee  

G. Ignition Interlock Participation Fee.  16-404.1  47  

H. Identification Card:    

(1) New issuance or renewal  12-301 and 16-122  [24] 5 per year 

(2) Duplicate or corrected  12-301 and 16-122  [20] 30  

(3)—(6) (text unchanged)     

I. The fee for a driver's license or 
identification card issued for a period of time 
other than 5 years may be prorated on a 1-year 
basis.  

  

.04 Vehicle Registration Fees. 

Service  Section  Fee  

A. (text unchanged)   

B. Replacement of registration plates, 
validation tabs, and registration card.  

13-952  [20] 40 

C.—M. (text unchanged)     

.06 Miscellaneous Fees. 

Service  Section  Fee  

A. Vehicle emissions inspection fee. Every 
other year.  

23-205  [$14] $30 

B. Vehicle emissions reinspection fee. After 
initial free inspection.  

23-207  [$14] $30  

C. Vehicle emissions inspection advanced 
testing fee. Every other year.  

23-207  [$10] $26  

D. Vehicle emissions inspection late fee. Per 
month or part of it.  

23-207  [$15] $30  

E. Vehicle emissions inspection fleet test fee, 
per vehicle passed.  

23-207  [$14] $30 

F. Driver improvement program fee.  16-212  $60  

G. Driver improvement program rescheduling 
fee.  

16-212  $25  

H. Alcohol education program fee.  16-212  $100  

I. Alcohol education program rescheduling fee.  16-212  $25  

J. Shuttle permit - Annual fee.  13-626  $25  

K.—M. (text unchanged)    

N. Sales of [Partial] Records [or Listings].  12-112   

 [(1) For up to 10,000 records:    



Service  Section  Fee  

        (a) To governmental agencies   $250  

        (b) To others   $500  

  (2) For each additional record:    

        (a) To governmental agencies   $0.05  

        (b) To others   $0.50]  

(1) Subscriptions:   

(a) Vehicle safety recall database  $125,000 per 
month 

(b) Depersonalized sales data – No 
Personally Identifiable Information 

 $10,000 per 
month 

(c) Vehicle Emission Inspection Program 
test data– No Personally Identifiable Information 

 $5,000 per month 

(d) Under 21 household insurance file  $15,000 per 
month 

(2) Except as provided in subsection (1) of 
this section, sales of partial records 

 $0.50 per record 

O. Restoration of repossessed documents or 
plates.  

12-110  $25  

P. Nonresident Service of Process  CJ, 6-313  $61 

 

CHRISTINE NIZER 
Administrator,  

Motor Vehicle Administration  


